Budget time…. ugh!

July 21, 2010

So for those of you that know me I’m not a fan of the “B” word. As a matter of fact I try just about anything to avoid it. However, the time has come for me to face my “B” word fears and create a ….. BUDGET plan! My hubby and I are wanting to buy a house. For the last few years we’ve been unsettled as to where we wanted to live so the house buying was put off. However, we have now gotten quite comfortable here in the great white north and are wanting to call it home. 🙂 That being said…. we havn’t really though of a house budget until now. Up until this point things like just going to Cuba, or Disneyland or heading on a road trip were just spur of the moment let’s do it kind of things… now that we need a down payment those “just do it” things need to be a little better planned out. So we decided it’s time to enforce a budget, and that’s what we’re going to TRY to do. Cut costs where they’re not needed, make things like clothes and shoes last longer (more so for the kiddos), cut back… WAY back, on groceries and start meal planning and really focus on savings. We’re in the clear as far as debt, so if we can lasso our spending habbits and stick to a plan the goal of a house should be easily done in a matter of 2 years.

So, now that you’re bored to death of my ramblings. If you’d like to join me on this journey, I can’t promise I’ll post everyday, or every second day. I am a very busy photographer, and a mom and housewife still, so the blogging will come as it comes. But, if you’d like to watch me struggle through this then please feel free to. 🙂

For starters this week I’ll be planning out the budget, seeing where I can use some of my girls clothes that are warn out and revive them, plan some meal plans and a better grocery budget and start some serious savings accounts, like a tax free savings account. So off I go to get a start… chow!

Leave a Reply

